New to leatherworking

Hello everyone! I’m a complete beginner into this craft, as I’m in my mid 40’s and looking for something to do to maybe go to my local craft fair with and just piddle around and stay out of the wife’s hair :slight_smile:

I have an extra building here on our land that i can convert to a shop area, once it’s all organized and cleaned away. I’ve ordered some tools from amazon and some higher end tools from Tandy as well. I figured I didn’t want to break the bank too early.

I’m seeking advice on some book suggestions? as well as where should I shop for leather? I’m in the Chattanooga, TN area, and Atlanta, Ga has 2 Tandy leather shops there, I was thinking of making a day trip to one of them so I could pick the leather out in person. (But what should I look for in a leather?)

I’m thinking or specializing in small leather goods, such as wallets, womans purse wallets, watch bands, and maybe some holsters.

I’m really interested in knowing where bigger leather punches are purchased? Such as alphabetical punches (for initials). I have a 3d printer, so I may just make up some custom punches there, although I know they won’t last long with all the pounding they will go through (but 3d filament is cheap).

Currently seeking plans for a stitching vise that I can put together relatively on the cheap.

Thanks for such a great community

Scott. :+1: